kb's rush

Life & Other Things

World Cup, feel it. It was here.

It feels like just yesterday we were celebrating and hosting the world cup in South Africa. I remember working my ass off at the Hotel we had just opened in Johannesburg. We had barely been open for 3 months and were already fully booked for the entire World Cup period. I was a 3rd year trainee in 2010 but was given a lot of responsibility, especially in systems (booking system for reservations) I had blocked off basically every group booking for World Cup in the hotel, and for the World Cup period the group I was put in charge of was the US Soccer Family. VI-freaking-P! 

Is was awesome to be given so much responsibility and trust. They had booked over 100 rooms on some nights. “do you have some of those triangular things?” – inside joke this. 

Some of us at the hotel were even lucky enough to be given tickets to go watch the game they played against Slovenia. Too awesome, those Vuvuzelas though… My lips were raw! Luckily I had ice cold Budweiser to drink!

Remember how freezing it was during the World Cup? Damn. No one cared though, people were everywhere! I can even remember the Mexican supporters and the actual Mexicans, gosh darn they were the BEST! And the loudest, those hats though… Hahaha

The atmosphere during World Cup was really something else, you could not help but feel connected to everyone. I even watched games, I don’t watch footie. But I did during World Cup!

Now 4 years on and the World Cup is back on again, in Brazil, and I’m listening to a CD that I downloaded on iTunes for work called “Brazil World Cup Football Party Anthems” it’s corny and has some really rad tunes. The tunes just make you want to shake your booty and to support the footie. For real. I find myself wanting to know what’s happening in the World Cup and to follow the teams. 

I am following these teams this year, Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire , Algeria (basically all African countries, but mainly routing for Ghana) and then Brazil and Iran. 

Iran I’m following because for almost 3 weeks in April this year I hosted the team at the hotel I work at for one of their training camps. And I worked like it was World Cup again. Even made their beds! Best believe. Go boys!! 

World Cup, feel it. It was here and now it’s in Brazil, la la la la Laaaaaa!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

